How to Get a Motorcycle License in Connecticut?
If you want to operate a motorcycle in Connecticut, you’ll need the appropriate license. In this state, just having a driver’s license isn’t enough. Getting a CT motorcycle license will assist you stay within the confines of the law while riding safely, so here’s an explanation of what you’ll have to do.
Obtain Motorcycle Permit
In Connecticut, a motorcycle permit is not needed months before applying for a license, but it is strongly recommended because it will allow you to operate the vehicle legally for 60 hours before obtaining your license. Also, if you don’t get a permit in advance, you’ll have to obtain one when you apply for a motorcycle license anyhow. To obtain a permit ahead of time, you must be at least 16 years old and have a valid driver’s license from this state.
If you’re younger than 18 years old, bring a Certificate of Parental Consent that has been notarized before going to the DMV. You’ll also need to fill out a Non-Commercial Driver’s License form.
At this point, you’ll need to pass a knowledge test for riding a motorcycle. You may improve your chances of passing by studying the motorcycle and overall driving manuals for this state. The cost of the written test is $40, which includes a vision screening first. If you pass both exams, you will also have to pay a $16 permit fee. Please note that most DMV offices accept cash, personal checks, money orders, and credit or debit cards with the Visa, MasterCard, or Discover logo.
Before you start using the permit to practice riding your bike, be aware of its limitations. It is only valid in this state and during daylight hours, for example. You can’t use limited-access roads or transport people on your bike while only possessing the permit, and you must wear a helmet as well as some sort of eye protection to safeguard your eyes while riding. You risk losing your license if you break these regulations.
Once you obtain your permit, you’ll be allowed to drive a motorcycle on public streets. However, a permit isn’t a complete license and comes with certain limitations. Keep the following guidelines and limitations in mind to avoid any problems.
- You are only permitted to ride this motorbike in Connecticut
- You may only drive your motorbike during the hours of sunrise and sunset only
- You are not allowed to transport passengers
- You are not permitted to use limited-access roads
Apply for a CT Motorcycle License
If you have a motorcycle permit, you may use it to get a CT motorbike license at the DMV by taking both your regular driver’s license and that particular permit there. You must also submit evidence that you completed a motorcycle training course and paid $30 to the DMV, at which point your license will be endorsed with an M.
If you don’t already have a motorcycle permit but want to apply for a CT motorcycle license, you must go through the same steps as permit applicants. If you are under the age of 18, you must appear in person at the DMV with your current driver’s license, a Non-Commercial Driver’s License form, and a Certificate of Parental Consent.
You’ll also need $40 for the knowledge and vision examinations, as well as $16 for the permit test. You’ll complete some tests and enroll in a course that will teach you motorcycle safety. You can return to the DMV after you’ve completed the course and shown proof of completion in order to obtain an M endorsement on your driver’s license.
Restrictions for New Motorcycle Drivers
After obtaining your license, you’ll have to follow a few additional regulations for the first several months. For the first 90 days after receiving your credentials, you will not be permitted to carry passengers if you are over the age of 18. If you’re under the age of 18, you must wait 6 months before carrying passengers.
At what age can you drive a motorcycle in CT?
The minimum age for driving a motorcycle in Connecticut is 16 years old. Applicants must have held a valid learner’s permit for at least 180 days before taking the on-cycle skills test, and must complete a rider education course approved by the DMV or the Motorcycle Safety Foundation.
How long is the motorcycle safety course in CT?
The motorcycle safety course in CT can vary depending on the provider, but it usually lasts for about 12 hours. Students will need to complete multiple modules covering topics such as riding skills, road rules and regulations, and basic vehicle maintenance. Additionally, students will also need to take a written exam at the end of the course to demonstrate their understanding of all the concepts they have learned throughout the training. Overall, this course is an excellent way to get started in learning how to ride safely on the road. If you are interested in taking this course or any other motorcycle safety courses in your area, be sure to contact your local DMV for more information.
Do you need a license to drive a motorcycle in CT?
The answer is no. You do not need a license to operate a motorcycle in CT unless you wish to drive it on public roads the same way you would with a car, truck or another motorized vehicle. You don’t need a license to ride your motorcycle on private land.